data acquisition @ ALPS

DAQ board


Data acquisition and processing is a central part of instrumentation, in educational, industrial and research applications. For this DAQ project, two students of the BSc Electrical and Communication Engineering developed, programmed and produced an evolutive data acquisition board.


This project has multiple objectives. Firstly, the students involved are applying the knowledge acquired during their coursework. Moreover, it responds to the need of simple DAQ board for educational experimental set-ups. Finally, it is also the basis for further development in the field of plasma process control.


This project has lead to the development of a DAQ board which presents 10 analog inputs and 5 analog outputs (0/10V) with a maximum output current of 40mA per channel (100mA if combined). Analog I/O have a sampling frequency of 10kHz. It has also 12 configurable digital I/O (0/3.3V) with PWM functionality. Firmware can easily be downloaded to the microcontroller (STMicroelectronics) with the SWD interface. Power supply is provided to the board via the USB connection (5V, max. 500mA) but the board can also feed extension boards (12V, 5V, 3.3V). Finally, memory capacity is provided by the µC (128KB of Flash, 24KB of RAM) and by 4 SRAM modules (1MB each). The user interface of the board makes it easy to do measurements, to draw plots (and export them as pictures) and to export the acquired data as text files. That way, the board can be used for various physical measurements, but it can also be used for instrumentation programming.





Extension boards are currently being developed : for temperature measurements and one with an Edison chip (Intel) for comparative measurements. Also, the DAQ board is used for process control i.e. management of gas-flow in PE-CVD processes.


The project has been financially supported by the MNG and WTT divisions of the TI-BFH. However, it would not have been successful without the support of the HuCE micro-lab and the high commitment of the students involved, namely Kevin Lücke and Adrian Maag.